• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon A570 IS digiscoping setting (1 Viewer)

barontan2418

United Kingdom
Would be grateful for any tried and tested digiscoping setting to start me off with the above camera. I've had some experience with the Nikon 4500 but would appreciate some help with the A570 .

Here are my settings for digiscoping with my Canon A640. Most or all should work with your A570.

Auto Focus on.
Spot focus selected.
Macro mode selected.
Spot metering selected if subject lighting obviously different than surrounding area.
Try not to use too much zoom.

Macro distance setting is of no importance. Just focus your scope as best as you can.
Use a shutter release cable if possible.(see my reply to the thread entitled "Help w/A95 vortex skyline combo" on this forum). In it you will see my home made shutter release cable bracket.

I have the A570, and was surprised to read this recommendation to use macro mode focusing. I never do this, so tried it. I attach the following two photos taken with my A570. The first photo shows the results obtained using autofocus. The second photo is done in macro mode.

Clearly, the macro setting did not work for this setup. Sometimes I find it useful to use Manual focus, as autofocus does not always lock on.

Both were taken at max zoom and widest aperture (140mm, f5.5), 10-second delay timer, on Pentax PF65A scope, Pentax XW14 eyepiece, focused on the original post as displayed on my Apple Cinema Display at a distance of about 35 feet. These results are straight from iPhoto with no sharpening.