• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

A95 - Adapter or Handheld (1 Viewer)

Steve25

I have recently purchased a friends Opticron ES80 GA ED45 with 20-60 zoom eyepiece. I want to try digiscoping with my Canon A95. I intended to connect the camera with a Lensmate 37mm thread to an LCE Winchester adapter.

However I have seen some marvellous pictures in the gallery which say 'handheld', which presumably means no adapter has been used.

My question is do I need to buy an adapter or is handheld an option for a complete novice.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Steve

Steve

Handheld can produce good pictures, but most are totally useless ( you need something to centre your lens in the eyepiece without letting the camera lens touch glass ). And adaptor and remote shutter release will produce far more good photo's. The only drawback is the time wasted in setting it up.

Saying that, most of my photo's I take "just for the record", so most are handheld. If its something special, I use the adaptor!.

I use the ES80 GA ED with the HDF Zoom and the A95 with lensmate and LCE adaptor. Nice kit!.

Handheld can work out pretty well if you at least have a bottle-cap guide to centre the camera lens on the eyepiece. If the diameter of your camera lens barrel exceeds th daimeter of the eyepiece glass, then with a little care, there is minimal risk of the camera barrel/lens touching the eyepiece glass (unless for some reason the lens is seriously convex).