• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

DDG-Focuser (1 Viewer)

kurakura

Hello,

As you know, I am looking at different telescope with the intend to get one at somepoint:D

I have been looking at the various William Optics refractors with DDG focuser. Can this digital focusing system be used as a focus lock- program focus for lets say 6-10-15-25-50meters then when we are in the field we can use it to get a rough focus or when in studio like settings at a feeder we can have a focus setting for the particular setting??

Hello kurakura

I am not technically qualified or experienced to give fail-safe advice on this matter, but it would appear from the literature that its primary application is to lock focus on things that don't move very fast. Also, for astro-photography where everything has to be shrouded in darkness, you don't need a flashlight to check your settings. I suppose that for studio type surroundings/hides it might work to get things into focus quicker by referring to the presets. It is not clear how many presets one can store in the device. Hopefully someone with hands-on experience can enlighten us on this aspect.

From my experience with manual focus lenses, you always shoot and refocus in any case. Also, any movement of the subject necessitates the need to refocus. But, yes, providing one can store a few preset focus offsets, it may work in stationary situations - I think.

However, have you checked the weight of that thing? 1.6Kg!!!!

You need a young Charles Atlas to carry that around :)