• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

I’ve been duped..... (1 Viewer)

Pronghunter

I’ve been duped....ok maybe not really.

I’m sure I’m going to get all sorts of corrections from people and “you don’t know what your taking about” comments and so on. I’m not a professional. Just giving a brief review of my last two months observations with four different binoculars so maybe for some...relax. Feel like I’ve been overpaying paying a little here for optics. I guess the retailers have to make some coin too, but dang. I’ll keep this pretty short and to the point. Let me explain. So, in the last 2 months, I’ve spent no less than an hour and up to 2 hours behind 4 different bins. 2 solid months to be exact and not a day missed. 4 binos that I think are the absolute best on the market. I realize there are variations from each brand, newer and older models which some will argue an older model may be a “better” model and so on. I decided to go with each brand’s latest and greatest 2018 to keep “my” non professional amateur test somewhat even, and while I’m not an optics geek, I’m really trying hard to be one. I’m not that familiar with all the optic terminology, yet I’m learning and have became familiar with most.

The binos. Swarovski 10x42 EL. Zeiss 10x42 SF. Leica 10x42 Noctivids. Maven 11x45 B2’s. Yes, I realize there’s a slight advantage and disadvantage with the Mavens being 11x45.