• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Possible Dove in Los Angles? (1 Viewer)

Hi Jane, I'm pretty new at this. I see lots of mourning doves, but the other day I saw an enormous (almost gull sized, but smaller head) gray bird, light colored beak but black at curved tip, right on the balcony. I live in Los Angeles, so I'm thinking it might be a sea bird. I just can't find a picture anywhere that it resembles. At first I thought it was the Mother of All Mourning Doves. Quite a mystery!

Many thanks! But this bird was entirely gray, no other markings except that strange half white half black beak with a curved tip. I'm saving up for a camera! So far, I've only seen it once.

kite?

Hi Jane, I'm pretty new at this. I see lots of mourning doves, but the other day I saw an enormous (almost gull sized, but smaller head) gray bird, light colored beak but black at curved tip, right on the balcony. I live in Los Angeles, so I'm thinking it might be a sea bird. I just can't find a picture anywhere that it resembles. At first I thought it was the Mother of All Mourning Doves. Quite a mystery!

What about a kite species? maybe white tailed.

This is close, but head and beak are too large. Today I had the thrill of seeing my first totally-new-to-me bird right outside the window. Vivid black and white head and body stripes, and lark-sized. I think it might be a black and white warbler, but I'm still hunting for the perfect picture. I've never felt so excited about seeing a bird before, though. This was the BEST!