• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digiscoping to DSLR Photography (1 Viewer)

DaveB

birding.daveb.co.uk
I've been digiscoping for the past 2-3 years and have been very happy holding my Coolpix 4300 up to the eyepiece of my Kowa scope. Some very good shots have been taken during this time, but i now feel the time is right for a change.

I am now thinking of ditching my scope and going for a DSLR camera with a 500mm lens. I would like a silent shutter release, auto focus and as many automatic features as possible. I will be a novice at first but would like the oppertunity to play about with the various settings once I feel confident with the set up.

Cost will hopefully be as cheap as possible, but I wont mind paying the right money for the right gear.

Any help and guidance will be accepted with much gratitude.

Well, with a DSLR you won't get silent shutter release, it's going to sound just like a 35mm SLR minus the film advance.

I've just read a few reviews and the Nikon D70 looks as though it may be my best choice. I also like the look of the Canon 20D.

Lens wise, £5000 seems to be allot of money. I think my best bet is to try and find a one thats second hand or an ex-demo.

Last edited:
The EOS 350D is also worth a look, it's also a 8mp camera (like the 20D), gives comparable images and is a few hundred cheaper.