• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Are scopes essential? (1 Viewer)

ColinD

United Kingdom
Recent discussions elsewhere about which scope to buy got me thinking about how rarely I use mine these days. I have a Bushnell Spacemaster, which when I bought it over 20 years ago, seemed a good scope, but I accept has now been overtaken many times.

However, I just can't justify buying a new scope. The only time I take it with me, is if I am specifically going to see a bird which I know will be some distance away, or if it's a rarity that I want a good view of. Since I very rarely twitch these days, I bet I haven't used my scope more than twice this year (Black Lark on Anglesey was the last time).

I can't be bothered to carry it when I'm out locally, and when I go abroad it's just a pain (literally) to carry it with light clothes on and in that heat. Birding is much more pleasurable without a scope, even if it means missing a few bits and pieces.

I'm at the stage where if I can't id the bird through bins, I'm not interested what it was. My attitude is, even with a scope, there will always be birds which are just too far away.

I could easily live without a scope, and my advice to new birders would be, if you have a limited budget, spend the money on a good pair of binoculars, rather than compromise with both scope and bins in order to get both,

Colin

Sorry you haven't been putting your scope to good use, Colin. If you don't want it, then you don't need it. I don't own a bicycle, a house, a stereo, or a cellular phone.