• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digiscoping vs. digital SLR+ telephoto (1 Viewer)

rb_stern

Richard stern
Hi,

I have been digiscoping for a couple of years, and while there is always room for improvement, I'm now reasonably often satisfied with my results. However, sometimes, both in the gallery here, and on Birds-Pix, there is a stunning, ultra-sharp eye-catching photo, that I really admire. More and more often, these turn out to have been taken with a digital SLR and telephoto lens, and presumably cropped or enlarged in Photoshop to bring out the bird. Does anyone else notice this, and have any comments?

Richard

I agree with your comments Richard. I think that we have to remember that DSLR's are designed with photography in mind. They have the highest of quality optics.

Digiscoping to my mind is a compromise. Many bird watchers already have a scope for viewing and taking a photo of the bird is an added bonus without the expense of buying even more additional and very expensive equipment.

Budget wise DLSRs and their lenses are way out of my league, but digiscoping is at least attainable.

Digiscoping has advantages in that a shot of a bird can be obtained at a longer distance than DSLRs meaning fieldcraft is less of an issue. Whilst out birdwatching and you see something special you can easily obtain an image without humping a load of photographic equipment around.

Having said that Mr.Poh in particular seems to be able to obtain very high quality images through digiscoping.

Hello Richard,
I have noticed this big time,