• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is this a willow warbler (1 Viewer)

GAZZER

Hi, I am totally new to the Bird Forum but I need some help with identifying a bird. Back in March, I rescued a fledgling from the roadside, actually I nearly ran over it on my bike and for sure it would eventually have been squashed by a car. What amazed me is that people were walking past it and simply ignoring it when it was clearly in trouble. I got off of the bike and picked the little fellow up, he crawled straight into my hand, and I took him home. I could see straight away that his left wing had been badly damaged and was ripped completely off at the joint. There was even bone showing and he was bleeding so I applied some mild disinfectant and warm water. I have to say that I did not expect him to survive as he was clearly a very young bird. The first evening I kept him in a shoebox and just fed him some water. To be honest I thought he would be dead by morning, but when I got up early next morning I found that he had recovered somewhat and was moving around. I decided to put him into an old bird cage that I had and kept him fed and watered. Initially I kept him indoors, but it was springtime so I then moved him outside. He regained strength but, as the months passed, I despaired that the wing would ever grow back. Then in the last 3 weeks he made a remarkable recovery and I went out one morning to find him attempting some limited flight. I took the cage inside this week and released him in the house to see if he could fly high and sure enough he headed for the top of the door and just sat there.