• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Greetings from Alaska (1 Viewer)

Joe H

United States
Dear Birdforum viewers,

I am not an expert on computers or bird watching but I will try to contribute to this excellent on-line resource. I don't spend a lot of time on my computer and I travel often so please do not take offense if I am not prompt in a reply (assuming I have anything significant enough to say that would warrant a question).

My wife got me bird watching this year so my life list, my 2004 list, and my Alaska list are all one in the same. I have (I believe) correctly identified 142 different birds up here this year and the hobby is great! I'm in competition with my wife who has been doing this with her family since she was a child. Only my frequent travel throughout this great state gives me any advantage.

I found this forum while researching (of course) binocular purchases. I've visited the sight often since then and have been amazed at the incredible depth of knowledge available here. Since I've benefited so much from your insight, I felt it was only fair to "pay back" something to such a great resource. I'll try to post on the appropriate forums, reviews of binoculars I've used or own, birds of any significance I've seen, and locations in Alaska of interest to bird watchers. I must emphasize that I am far from an expert and I have noticed that there are several Alaskans who have registered as users here. If anything I say conflicts with your previous knowledge about optics, or birds of Alaska, rest assured, I am most certainly the one who is mistaken!