• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Wide Angle vs. Standard Eyepiece (1 Viewer)

Tsutomu

Hello All,

I’m new to birding and realized that for seabirds the use of a scope would make identifying them a lot easier! I can’t quite grasp the idea behind the wide angle versus regular eyepiece choices. With wide angle it seems you get constant apparent FOV across the zoom range, while the regular ones it decreases with increasing power. I’m not sure how the wind angled can keep a constant apparent FOV.

Anyway, what are the pros and cons of the two approaches. Any assistance would be most appreciated. Thanks!

Tsutomu

By 'regular' or 'standard' eyepiece, I assume from your description that you mean zoom? A fixed power, wide-angle eyepiece offers a wide, bright FOV which makes the acquisition and following of seabirds, raptors etc much easier, the trade off being that it may not give you the magnification required to make an identification. A zoom eyepiece will offer a fairly wide FOV at lowest magnification aiding acquisition, which reduces markedly as the magnification is increased. The smaller FOV/higher available magnification makes following a flying bird much more difficult and, even though the extra magnification is useful, identification is made more difficult by more frequent adjustments to focus/oscillation of tripod due to reduced depth of field. Basically its all about physics; you pays your money and takes your chance. Decide what matters most to you and make your purchase based on that. Hope this is helpful?

RB