• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

scopes (1 Viewer)

HazelWebster

hello i am a newbie here and what a lovely site it looks. I am thinking of buying a scope , hoping some one could help me , not got a lot of budget to spend on one , so whats the best one to look for , have about 200 pound

Hi Hazel and a warm welcome to you from all the Staff and Moderators.

I've moved your post to the dedicated Telescope forum and subscribed you to the thread so that you can find it easily. You will receive an email with a link to click on which will bring you straight here.

I'm sure you will enjoy it here and I look forward to hearing your news.

Welcome to BirdForum Hazel. Something to keep in mind in terms of budget is that to use a scope effectively you will need to mount it on a tripod. If you don't already have a tripod, you should factor that into your budget too. For the scope, it may be worth looking for used options at that price.

. For the scope, it may be worth looking for used options at that price.

Total agreement.... get the most quality for your money and you will be happier. 200 pounds isn't very much when considering a tri-pod and a scope.

Get an angled scope would be my suggestion.... depending on what you are going to do with the scope and how you will scope (walking around with it or just taking it out of the car to view), either a 65 or a 80 will work.