• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Loss of wildlife? (1 Viewer)

Angelaptvm

Hello,

Can you please advise, I am a resident of a area where we maintain grass
areas containing willow trees and a lake. We have recently been advised
and have actioned crowning of all these trees. A fellow resident is
concerned that due to the excessive chopping of the trees ( reduced by
50%) that this has resulted in the lose of our woodpeckers and other bird
species. Is this the case? or is they anything that can be done to
attract them back? We still have moorhens and recently ducks on the lake,
that seem not to be effected by this?

I look forward to your responses.

Thanks & regards

Angela
o:D

Why are you cutting down the trees, are them an exoctic species? This is happening in a park near by too because of that. They are going to replant it with native species though, which is good.

But I have no doubt that in your case it could very well reduce the number of species that need the trees, like the woodpecker and many others and I don't think there's much you can do besides planting more trees.

Well, take away the habitat and the brids will disappear.

If you've taken away 50% of the tree mass, then that's 50% of a woodpecker habitat, so you shouldn't be surprised that they've gone (probably starved or left).