• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

ID help - Louisiana (1 Viewer)

pattianne

The bill seems a bit thick for a snowy egret... any thoughts?
of course, the feet are hidden - so much for that clue. Thanks

pattianne

Attachments

• ID.jpg
    ID.jpg
    100.5 KB · Views: 145
Hi Pattianne,

What about immature white morph Redish Egret. Dark bill, grey facil skin and grey legs match this species.

I am not an expert on birds of North America, so lets wait for the experts.

Alejandro

Hi Alejandro,
Thanks for your input. I haven't seen a white morph reddish egret before, but I do know this bird looked a bit odd in the field. I have searched my books, and still not sure about the ID. If the bill is right, the color of the legs are wrong, and so on. I did check out the reddish egret, but I just don't have the expertise to make a positive ID. Again, thanks for your quick reply. I will go back and check the reddish egret again.

pattianne

hi pattianne,

Personally, I think that is a Snowy Egret. Reddish Egrets have dark lores - this bird shows obvious yellow lores. The bill seems to short, and the neck also seems rather short. I don't have much experience with white-morph Reddish Egrets (I've just seen dark-morph), but I'm quite confident that isn't a Reddish.

Neil G.

Hi Neil,
Thank you for your interest. You've made some good points. I will study the photo more tomorrow - and I'll check to see if I took any other shots of this bird, too.
Thanks again.

pattianne