• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hybrid BrantxBrent (1 Viewer)

sandp

Two first winter hybrid Black Brant x Dark-bellied Brent are reported at the pitch and putt course at Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk. Can anyone tell me what their identifying features are?

sandp said:
Two first winter hybrid Black Brant x Dark-bellied Brent are reported at the pitch and putt course at Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk. Can anyone tell me what their identifying features are?
Hi sandp

I have no personal experience of these hybrids, but the following links should point you in the right direction.

http://www.lincsbirdclub.co.uk/articles/black_brant.htm
http://www.oceanwanderers.com/IntrmBrantNY.html

Hope this helps.
Regards
Tristanhttp://www.lincsbirdclub.co.uk/articles/black_brant.htm

Personally I'm sceptical on this one. I rather doubt that there are any established criteria which allow one to rule out normal variation within in these two species (?) with any degree of confidence, John

Are brant goose and brent goose separate birds? If so, how do you distinguish between them and which of the two is more prominent in the UK?

Tim100 said:
Are brant goose and brent goose separate birds? If so, how do you distinguish between them and which of the two is more prominent in the UK?

Hi Tim

Within the UK Brent Geese occur with three races (although some authorities consider them different species) being regular winter visitors.