• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Photoshop workflow advice please (1 Viewer)

Adrian D

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to processing images using Photoshop and would appreciate some advice on the best workflow to use, starting with the image as taken by the camera through to the final printing stage.

I have been told that it is best to print at 300dpi, is this the same as resizing the image from the default 72pixels/inch to 300pixels/inch? When is the resizing carried out, first function or later on?

Sharpening is also the last function to use prior to printing as I understand it, with any other changes (whatever they may be) having already been made.

While I have some limited knowledge already, I would appreciate a 'step-by-step' guide as to how other people reach their excellent results.

My apologies if this has been covered in a previous thread, and if so a link would be very useful.

Thanks in advance for any help given.

Get hold of a copy of David Tipling's excellent book 'RSPB Guide to Digital Wildlife Photography'. He describes a good example of workflow and what to do in Photoshop and in what order. Priceless for the beginner shooting in JPEG or RAW.

Adrian

Don't get mixed-up with resolution and lines per inch.

300 pixel\inch is your frequency (a line screen for offset litho printing), usually set at a resolution of 2400 (dpi).

72 pixel\inch is your viewing screen for images on the www.