• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Swarovski HD ATS-80 (20-60X) & Nikon D70 (1 Viewer)

Michele R

Hello,

I am new to digiscoping and I have a few beginner questions that I hope someone can help me with. My loving husband just surprised me with a Swarovski HD ATS-80 (20-60x) which should arrive this Friday!

I am certain that I will have more questions, but these are my immediate concerns:

1) Can I use my Nikon D70 to digiscope and are there any drawbacks to using this camera?
2) The largest SW DC adapter supplied is 52mm and my 20mm f2.8 Nikkor is 62mm; what is the best way to connect the lens to the adapter (step-up ring?)?
3) Should I consider the straight scope as opposed to the angled, or is this just a matter of personal preferrence and type of birding?

I appreciate any advice you can provide.

Michele

Michele,

I used the D70 for a few months when I first started using a DSLR for digiscoping. I have Zeiss scopes and they make their own branded adapter for connecting the camera. Swaro makes an adapter for DSLR's as well but it's fairly pricey.

This guy has a setup similar to the one you're considering.

http://birdfreak.com/digiscoping/

My results with the D70 were mixed. At low ISO's it worked great combined with high shutter speeds. Higher ISO's didn't produce very crisp images and I wound up using the infrared remote to reduce camera shake. After about 3 months I jumped ship and bought a Canon 400D and have been really happy about it.

Here is a link to a sample image from my results with the D70.

http://flickr.com/photos/kmichaelshea/2857057383/