• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

need bird i.d. please (1 Viewer)

glazzers

I am a novice at birding but love the photography of birds. Can someone please help with the identification of this bird. photograph taken in Kruger Park, South Africa in August 2003

Attachments

• id help.jpg
    id help.jpg
    99.4 KB · Views: 406
I'll have a guess at a Monticola species (rockthrush), most likely Sentinel Rock Thrush (M. explorator) , but Sal or Robert in SA should give you a better idea soon

Michael

Last edited:
logos and michael. according to my SA book the short-toed rock thrush is not found in the Kruger area so it probably is more likely to be the male Sentiel Rock Thrush ????

Thanks guys for the info.

Maybe, but the SASOL Birds of Southern Africa describes a variable white cap as diagnostic of Short-toed. I wonder if the crown of Sentinel could bleach paler in the sun though.

Spud

Which guide are you using Glazzers? Just checked in the SASOL (which is normally regarded as the best in reviews) and neither of the possible species appears to occur within the Kruger area!?

Spud

When I looked in my Thrushes book, my first thought was Short-toed because of the pale crown, but I deleted that (hence the edit mark on the post!) in favour of Sentinel when I looked at the range maps. I concluded that the pale crown could just be either sunlight glinting off the crown, and/or bleached feathering

Thrushes maps Sentinel much more widespread in northeast South Africa, but it is of course a very small-scale map that won't show local variations in presence.

Michael