• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Eagle from North Greece, Jan 07 (1 Viewer)

Spyros

Spyros
For all raptors experts: Help me identify this Eagle, from Greece

Spotted Eagle or Lesser Spotted Eagle?

Thank you in advance

Attachments

My guess would be a young (age = ???) Lesser Spotted Eagle due to short final primary-finger (what primary is that?).

Attachments

• Spotted Eagle.JPG
    Spotted Eagle.JPG
    11.4 KB · Views: 85
Agree with Alex. Enhanced pic of flying bird attached. Note comma feature on wing as well as length of fingers. But I'm not a raptor expert and I am worried by the date. Lesser spotted eagle is much the commoner species but is a summer visitor? Interested to see what European raptor experts think.

Graham

Attachments

• spotted eagle.jpg
    spotted eagle.jpg
    14.7 KB · Views: 110
Last edited:
bitterntwisted said:
Agree with Alex. Enhanced pic of flying bird attached. Note comma feature on wing as well as length of fingers. But I'm not a raptor expert and I am worried by the date. Lesser spotted eagle is much the commoner species but is a summer visitor? Interested to see what European raptor experts think.

Graham

Not expert- but I would go for Greater despite the rather stubby looking primaries. Pro Greater features include dark underwing coverts, pale wedge on innner primaries (result of the barring fading towards tip). Also of course location and date- but that should only be a strong factor I guess.