• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

When is a tick a tick for you? (1 Viewer)

Guizotia

I have been birding for two years and my life list is 131 species.

I am thinking of restarting my life list, and here's why:

I went to see a White-winged Black Tern at Staines Reservoir a couple of days ago. I didn't get a change to do any research before I went there, and forgot to take my book. I assumed that this bird would look markedly different from Black Tern.

Last night I checked the diagnostic features of White-winged Black Tern and the 2S bird I saw, and I can't say that I noticed these diagnostic features.

So while I know that the bird I saw was a White-winged Black Tern, I didn't personally identify it as such. This makes me want to untick the bird.

What this has made me realise is that, for me, a tick is a species that I have ID'd, not seeing a bird that I am, however reliably, informed is X.

This lead to a question: how many other species have I seen where I did not personally and satisfactorily view the diagnostic features that separate that species from similar ones? I can't reliably answer that question.

So I am going to restart my life list, and I think this process will re-enforce things I have previously learnt (and possibly forgotten) and probably learn new things in doing so.

But I wonder what other people think of this? Do you tick a bird on being 'reliably informed' (for example, someone else's photographic evidence) or do you need to 'see for yourself'?