Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Zeiss - Always on the lookout for something special – Shop now

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

omd em5 pic size

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old Monday 19th May 2014, 21:40   #1
666taz
Phill Wain
 
666taz's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: horbury, west yorkshire
Posts: 1,941
omd em5 pic size

Hi I have just got one of these and don;t understand why when i have everything set to highest res when i change save my raw at highest setting the jpegs come out at just over 5 meg when the raw is 16meg .With the 7D i have they file are usually about the same siz e am i missing something .cheers Phill
__________________
MY web sites http://imagesoftheuk.co.uk/http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/ Olympus OM-D E-5 ,M.ZUIKO ED 60mm 2.8, Macro,M.ZUIKO ED 75-300mm 4.8-6.7 ii ,M.ZUIKO ED 12-50mm 3.5-6.3 EZ .
666taz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 19th May 2014, 22:08   #2
Adey Baker
Member
 
Adey Baker's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hinckley, Leics
Posts: 4,969
Firstly, the jpeg size will be smaller anyway if there are large areas of plain colour in the photo. I've just had a quick glance at some of my EM5 wildflower shots which have varying levels of detail in them and the jpegs vary between about 6 and 11.5 megs.

I have the superfine jpeg set together with raw. Olympus customising can be a bit daunting to start with and having chosen the largest jpeg you then have to go into the custom menu to get the superfine setting instead of just 'fine.' Go to custom (cog) 'G' which is the 'set' symbol/color/WB - then scroll down to the last but one option 'Set' and from there go into set 1, where you can alter the settings similar to changing the time/date - the 1st box should be 'L' for large pixel count then the second box is the one you need to move the arrows up or down to select 'SF' then press OK and it should be what you need!

Confirm it be checking the viewfinder/rear screen which should show L SF+RAW in the appropriate position.
Adey Baker is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Monday 19th May 2014, 23:04   #3
666taz
Phill Wain
 
666taz's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: horbury, west yorkshire
Posts: 1,941
I am shooting in raw then using the raw developer then saving .and the jpegs are set to highest but still only about 5meg.I know they vary with detail but i would expect a jpeg file of at least 10 meg.In camera settings I have set the raw to super fine .If my raw files are all 16 meg then I would expect jpegs to be between 8 and 16 meg depending on detail but they all come out a 5meg.Maybe i will shoot in raw +sf L jpeg and see what happens then lol.But I just use raw at the mo.
__________________
MY web sites http://imagesoftheuk.co.uk/http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/ Olympus OM-D E-5 ,M.ZUIKO ED 60mm 2.8, Macro,M.ZUIKO ED 75-300mm 4.8-6.7 ii ,M.ZUIKO ED 12-50mm 3.5-6.3 EZ .

Last edited by 666taz : Monday 19th May 2014 at 23:13.
666taz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Tuesday 20th May 2014, 00:24   #4
njlarsen
Opus Editor
 
njlarsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. James, Barbados
Posts: 21,909
I think that if you are used to seeing RAW and jpg of the same size, then one of two:
1 There is something wrong with your jpg settings, or
2 Your RAW images have been through something like a ZIP algorithm to save space.
Remember that jpg is a lossy way to save images, raw is not. On my Pana GH2 (which has about the same pixel formatting as the oly, I believe) my Raws are about 18.4MB, the ooc jpgs about 4. That is the relationship I would expect, 1:1 definitely not.

Niels
__________________
Support bird conservation in the Caribbean: BirdCaribbean

Just moved to Barbados

Last edited by njlarsen : Tuesday 20th May 2014 at 00:28.
njlarsen is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Tuesday 20th May 2014, 06:20   #5
666taz
Phill Wain
 
666taz's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: horbury, west yorkshire
Posts: 1,941
I have a 7D and a !Ds the raw are 18meg and 16 meg when i process them through the canon software they usually come out about 11to 14 meg so just dont understand why the jpegs are so small when i do just the same with the olympus.Maybe its the way the canon software saves them i have looked and at my pics ,it could be because like Adey says they could be small because i've been doing landscapes and there is lots of blue skys and lots of similar colour as the other ones off my canon pics are mostly wildlife with lots more detail thanks for the answers i will have to do more wildlife to see if it makes a difference.Cheers for the responses Adey and Niels.
__________________
MY web sites http://imagesoftheuk.co.uk/http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/ Olympus OM-D E-5 ,M.ZUIKO ED 60mm 2.8, Macro,M.ZUIKO ED 75-300mm 4.8-6.7 ii ,M.ZUIKO ED 12-50mm 3.5-6.3 EZ .
666taz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Tuesday 20th May 2014, 13:01   #6
njlarsen
Opus Editor
 
njlarsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. James, Barbados
Posts: 21,909
If you save a jpg in photoshop, you can choose compression levels from 1-10 with 10 being essentially uncompressed. I wonder if the software has chosen different compression levels for the two cameras.

Niels
__________________
Support bird conservation in the Caribbean: BirdCaribbean

Just moved to Barbados
njlarsen is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Tuesday 20th May 2014, 16:35   #7
666taz
Phill Wain
 
666taz's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: horbury, west yorkshire
Posts: 1,941
I use canons own DPP and Olympuses own so that could be the diffrence iI just downloaded olympus viewer 3 still the same but no worries ive only ahd it a week as im downsizing Iwas having trouble carrying all my canon gear dso plumbbed for the olympus as its the best i could afford for what i needed .Got to day though at first its been the hardest camera ive ever had to learn .But im getting there thanks for the input cheers Phill.
__________________
MY web sites http://imagesoftheuk.co.uk/http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/ Olympus OM-D E-5 ,M.ZUIKO ED 60mm 2.8, Macro,M.ZUIKO ED 75-300mm 4.8-6.7 ii ,M.ZUIKO ED 12-50mm 3.5-6.3 EZ .
666taz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are max size in DCB II musti Digiscoping Adapters 0 Friday 2nd November 2012 10:57
Just my size KC Foggin Garden Birds, Bird Feeding & Nestboxes 4 Sunday 26th September 2010 23:37
CCD Size birdeast Cameras And Photography 4 Tuesday 30th August 2005 14:24
Try These for Size Adey Baker Bird Forum Fun Quizzes 10 Sunday 8th August 2004 00:25

{googleads}

Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites

Help support BirdForum

Page generated in 0.16908312 seconds with 19 queries
All times are GMT. The time now is 18:41.