• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

fz38 for flight shots (1 Viewer)

peter hill

Im quite new to the idea that you can get a decant flight shot with a compact camara have got the fz38 but am unsure how to get the best out of it on a flying bird ,have tried it twice on the turns at cemlyn bay on anglesey and the best results seem to be by having the zoom about 10x rather than the 18 thats avaible im quite sure there must be other people on here that would benifit from expert help ,any pointer would be good thanks B :)

I have the fz18, so an older version, but I believe the menu is mostly the same:

you can try the different focusing options, if you go into the menu click AF mode, and choose the one with one square and an "H" next to it. (For stationary objects, I use the smallest single square). This I believe works best with relatively slow birds, such as an overhead osprey.

If you are talking about fast moving buggers that have predictable places they are coming (for example in front of a bush), try using the bottom AF/MF to switch to MF and use the joystick to do the actual focusing in the area you expect the birds to come, and then shoot when they are there. I have found it difficult but not completely impossible.

For an example of MF, look here (the weather was pretty dark that day).

Niels

This was 1 of the sandwitch terns returning with a sandeel