• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Did I see a Grouse? (1 Viewer)

phiffdawg

Hello, I am a newbie to this forum and a herper who rapidly seems to be becoming a birder... I just saw a Grouse-type bird on my lunch break. I didn't get a photo because it took off but it had a lot of orange and black in it. Anyone know what i could have seen? I will try to get a photo of it sometime soon, although it will be difficult because it seems to be super wary.

Thanks,
Chris

Last edited:
Hi Chris and welcome to Bird Forum from all the Staff and Moderators

I'm sorry I can't help with the indentification, but I'm sure there'll be someone along soon who can.

D

I just saw it again and it isn't a grouse...

I am looking at my bird book and now think I saw a King Rail. My question is are they found near rivers (not just marshes)?

delia todd said:
Hi Chris and welcome to Bird Forum from all the Staff and Moderators

I'm sorry I can't help with the indentification, but I'm sure there'll be someone along soon who can.

D

Hi Chris, Welcome to BirdForum!

A King Rail would be quite a great find in Massachussetts, especially this time of year. If you're sure it's a rail, Clapper or Virginia would be much more likely. Can you describe any other physical aspects of the bird besides its color and wariness?

Hello Chris,
And another welcome to the Birdforum. Start chasing an interesting bird and before you know it you'll be a full fledged birder! Hope you enjoy it here (and solve your mystery birds ID).