• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Vortex PS 100 adapter question (1 Viewer)

pscott

A quick question before I order the PS 100. I have a Celestron Regal M2 65 ED scope. The eyepiece cover screws off and the threads on the scope are 37mm. Can I, therefore, attach the PS 100 directly to the scope without the need of the attachment that goes over the eyepiece cover that I've seen them do on the sites I've visited? If I do then I need to order that piece also.

I am totally new to digiscoping and so completely out of my element.

I have visited the forums often for a bit and find everyone very forgiving of us newcomers and very helpful.

Thank you in advance for the help.

From memory the Vortex default thread is 37 mm so it should screw straight onto the eyepiece. There is a 52 mm version too.
The PS 100 is best for lenses that don't have a filter thread and are internal focusing, particularly small digicams eg Nikon P300/310/330/340 or Sony RX 100/100M2 .
It is a little fiddly to fit up initially so best to only have it for one camera. And don't lose the Allen key.
Neil.

Thank you, Neil

I was thinking since the ps100 was 37mm female thread it should screw right onto the 37mm male thread on the scope eyepiece, but wasn't sure. I went ahead and ordered it and it is supposed to be delivered Tuesday. I see you mention IF for the lens on the P&S cameras. I have at present a Canon A590IS, but the back section of the lens does rotate. I don't think that should interfere and hope it doesn't. I want to get a newer P&S, but will have to save a little first.