• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon Image Stabilized (IS) Binoculars (1 Viewer)

p645n

Please excuse me if I'm asking something that has been discussed before...you see I'm rather puzzeled as I've gone through the archives and can't seem to find an answer to my question. I used to shoot birds, casually I admit, but it was something I really enjoyed. I quite about the time I graduated to 8 pound lenses and 8 pound tripods...hated that! I now shoot people using Canons Image Stabilized lenses...usually a 300 f4L IS. OK finally here comes the question (thank goodness you say)...having become a rather rabid convert of IS I was about to purchase a set of Canon 15x50 IS Binoculars as a gift for a friend. She is a HARDCORE birder who is disabled to the point that she can not carry a scope/tripod. I thought I could get some opinions on the IS binoculars from this sites users...but is not to be! Does no one use them? If thats the case is it because they are no good? Thanks for your help...jim

Hi Jim, and welcolme to BF. I did mention my Canon binoculars some time ago, when someone asked a general question about binoculars.