• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon aculon A211 (1 Viewer)

Mark S

Love Nature
Just bought Nickon aculon A211 10-22x50 binoculars off gumtree. I'm new to bird watching but love anything to do with outdoors and nature and needed binoculars that can be used for close work and distance. Has anyone else got these and what do you think, more importantly have i made the wright choice.

Just bought Nickon aculon A211 10-22x50 binoculars off gumtree. I'm new to bird watching but love anything to do with outdoors and nature and needed binoculars that can be used for close work and distance. Has anyone else got these and what do you think, more importantly have i made the wright choice.

Welcome aboard.
Not to sound discouraging but those are terrible binoculars. Zoom binoculars and particularly cheap ones are not the way to go.
Something like an 8x42 in that Nikon range would be a better starting point (although there's plenty of models and sizes worth recommending).
Now that you're on the forum check out various segments of the binoculars section. You'll get plenty of good information.
You don't need to spend big to get an excellent pair of binoculars but a bit of research can go a long way to get the best from your budget.

Unfortunately Mark, as stated above, zoom binoculars are not the best format binocular to use, let alone start off with. A fixed magnification is considered much better for many reasons.

Perhaps it is not too late to cancel your order.

Good luck.

Hi Mark,

I have two Nikon Action 10-22x50 binoculars.
These are similar to the Aculon zoom.