• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Where's best in Lake District? (1 Viewer)

2520years

Lurking in the bushes is wrong.
Hi all.

I'm going to the Lake District in late February. We're staying near Keswick, which is in the North Lakes. I'm only realistically going to be let out once to watch the birds...so where would you recommend? I'm a beginner so it doesn't have to be anywhere too remote. St Bees sounds good, but it's quite far. If I could go somewhere that my wife and daughter would enjoy, it might be best, but I can leave them at the cottage if necessary.
;)
Where would you recommend?

Thanks.

Just an addition to the above...I've heard it can be a bit steep and muddy in St Bees, so would it be okay in Winter? Would I be at risk of losing my family into the sea?

We visit the Lake District quite often for day trips, weekends and staying a week sometimes. Last year we stayed for a week in a cottage at Brackenrigg Barn 3 miles south of Keswick on the road to Thirlmere and Grassmere - which proved handy as it had it's own little wood/nature reserve only for guests.

Other than that I don't find it a great birding area at least in Summer. We tend not to go there winter time.

The places that spring to mind are RSPB Leighton Moss to the south, Walney Island to the south west (we did it on a day trip) and RSPB Campfield Marsh to the north - which should be good for waders and Geese.