• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Beginner needing advice on settings please ? (1 Viewer)

Geoff Haynes

Hello, I am just starting out and my kit so far is a Canon 450D, 18-55 lens , 55-250 lens , Tokina AT-X840 AFII 80-400 lens and a Kenko AF 2x Teleplus MC7 DG Converter. Does any one have the Tokina lens ? What settings would i need on the camera , just for good starting out shots ? Would my equiptment be good enough to get some shots like the great ones in the gallery. Please remember i am a beginner and i would be gratefull for any help or advice on the basics please , Many thanks , Geoff.

I am sure people will add much more advise but just for starters central point focussing and make sure you remember the old guidelines about shutter speed and focal length i.e. don't go slower than 1/focal length to eliminate camera shake. So for the Tokina at 400mm allowing for the 'crop' factor no slower than 1/640 sec as a guideline. This often means shooting fairly wide open and with a highish ISO setting but that is better than blur caused by camera shake. For moving subjects use A1 Servo and I mostly leave it on 3fps which is slow enough to only take one shot if you want or several as the case may be. For shots against the sky some exposure compensation may be necessary and/or spot metering. Always carry a spare fully charged battery as it is amazing how many shots you get through. People find their own favourite settings over time and may well be different from mine.

Hi Geoff,