• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Windy but good first day Birding! (1 Viewer)

Passerine Dream

Passerine Dream
I live north of Toronto about 25 minutes. Went to the local conservation area with my new pair of Bino's. Had a blast. It was quite windy so im thinking this is possibly why I didnt see many birds today. Maybe a more experienced birder can chime in on wind and birding? Does it help or hinder? Anyways im a noob also so that had allot to do with it. I went to Claireville Conservation Area. I saw 4 different species. i hope I identified them correctly.

1. Canada Geese
2. Shinned Hawk
3. Black Capped chikadee
4. European Starling

I also saw a couple other birds but I wasn't able to identify them. Anyways this was my first ever trip Birding and im very excited to have found this wonderful and joyful activity.

cheers

It was quite windy so im thinking this is possibly why I didnt see many birds today. Maybe a more experienced birder can chime in on wind and birding? Does it help or hinder?

Wind is a definite hindrance for most birding - they hide for shelter, and get more difficult to see among moving foliage. The one exception is seabirds at sea, you see more of them on windy days.