• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Do the optics greatly improve with the price? (1 Viewer)

I'm new to birding and after reading an Audubon article about binoculars, I decided to buy these Eyeskey 8x42 binocs. I like them so far, but I don't know how they would compare to a more expensive pair. If I decided to spend $500, would the optics be way better? Or is the difference in detail not very noticeable? The same question goes for a $500 pair versus a $1000 pair and a $1000 pair versus a $2000 pair. If any of you have used a cheaper binoc and then tried an expensive binoc, can you tell me what the difference was like? Thank you.

Attachments

• binoc.JPG
    binoc.JPG
    114.4 KB · Views: 83
Depending which model you choose, I believe for the most part yes. I've owned everything from the cheapest to the best, I will never be satisfied with anything less than the best now, but lesser optics can definitely satisfy the majority of people.

Last edited:
Morgothaod,

Welcome to the forum.