• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Fody on Mauritius (1 Viewer)

MKinHK

Mike Kilburn
Hong Kong
I photographed this Fody in The Black River Gorges National Park in Mauritius this morning.

Taking the location and the clear definition between the white belly and red breast do I have enough to safely identify this as Mauritius Fody?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Cheers
Mike

Attachments

• DSC08378 Fody on Mauritius @ Blk Rivr Gorge NP.jpg
    DSC08378 Fody on Mauritius @ Blk Rivr Gorge NP.jpg
    134.4 KB · Views: 82
I've got no experience of either Mike but the bill structure isn't convincing, said to be longer and thinner on Mauritius?

The underparts are also very pale compared to the books which is better for Madagascar and the red breast is maybe too extensive for Mauritious?

A

Last edited:
Last edited:
According to Opus Mauritius Fody is now only found in the Ile aux Aigrettes Nature Reserve - I don't know how accurate this is.
They reckon there's over a hundred breeding pairs left.. The Ile aux Aigrettes is a tiny island.. I've been there... Caught a lot of Madagascar's.. There's no way they're all on that tiny island.. I had a quick look at the end of my meal break.. Answered a bit too quick.. lots of green below.. They say there are some hybrids.. Perhaps its one of those?

Funny you should say that, in the books I looked at, it looks most like Forest Foady which of course isn't there.

A