• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Wandering-type Albatross. Experts needed! (1 Viewer)

Hi Jane,

To me, I can't see this bird as a nominate 'Snowy' Wandering, even a male. On the flight view there doesn't appear to be enough white in the upper wing coverts - could be angle & light, but seems to lack the distinctive 'checker-board' pattern of a nominate. More like a Gibson's from my experience, though I'm no expert.

How did you get to your ID? Would be interested to know to learn more.

Ben

The bird is Wandering Albatross, Diomedea [exulans] antipodensis or gibsoni, as Ben said....
differs from Royal albatross (D. empomophora)

- uniform pale rose (reddish) bill with pale cutting edges (royal has dark cutting edges)

- black tips in the tail feathers (royal has totally white tail)

- Wandering has brown wing feathers in the juvenile and subadult plumage (royal has black/blackish).

- Wandering's upperside of wing changes into white from the middle of the inner part wing and the pattern is more spotted, whereas Royal's wing become paler from the front edge to back.

id the ssp:
- small black cap
- never widely white in the wing coverts

ssp gipsoni can include inside ssp antipodensis

Source: Alula 3/2000 Rodney Russ and Hadoram Shirihai

Last edited:
Definitely not a royal.