Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Zeiss - Always on the lookout for something special – Shop now

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Opticron Oregon 4 PC

Old Monday 13th August 2018, 08:52   #1
lgc123

Opticron Oregon 4 PC

Hi,

on the market for 8x32 binoculars in the 100 range, and been considering the Oregon 4 (bang on budget), or maybe stretching to the Discovery. I've just noticed that there is a new Oregon 4 PC model on sale for 110, which now include phase corrected coatings.

I can't find any impressions/reviews online - anybody tried them? I'm new to this, so I don't know how much of a difference the PC coating would make (or if other aspects might have gotten worse in the process..)
Old Monday 13th August 2018, 09:54   #2
typo

Igc,

Phase coating counteracts the light loss which is a potential pitfall of roof prism designs. In bright, sunny condition I suspect few would notice the difference, but in murky conditions the loss in contrast is usually much more obvious. It's a feature worth having.

David
Old Monday 13th August 2018, 16:36   #3
richard866945
Bino repair man

phase coating

Quote:
Originally Posted by typo View Post
Igc,

Phase coating counteracts the light loss which is a potential pitfall of roof prism designs. In bright, sunny condition I suspect few would notice the difference, but in murky conditions the loss in contrast is usually much more obvious. It's a feature worth having.

David
Roof prisms have an inherent problem. They can't focus all the colours / wave lengths into a sharp point. Porro prisms don't share this problem so PC coatings correct this out-of-phase error and therefore allow roof prisms to be as sharp as the equivalent porro prisms.