• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

8x32 or 8x42? (1 Viewer)

Thomas T.

Hi,
I am a newbie in birding, and I am going to buy binoculars for it, as well as for reptiles and amphibian observations.
I will probably choose the Kite Forster model, only available in Europe I think.
I am pretty sure that I will take a 8x factor, but I still hesitate between 8x32 and 8x42.

My main concerns is the weight, that is greater with the 8x42.
(8x32: 22.4oz, 8x42: 25oz)

Here is my question:
- Which one will you take for general purpose?
- Does it really make a difference at day-time when watching birds (or mammals) in forest?
- Do you think this is a big weight difference? (unfortunately, I cannot try them before buying).

hi Thomas and welcome to BirdForum.

Personally I use 8x32s (though not the ones you're looking at) - I like the smaller, lighter package - they deliver a wide field of view than the 8x42 equivilent and a better close focus (great for insects). I have no problems with the light gathering even when birding at dawn or dusk.

Hi Thomas,