• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Problems, Problems...problems!! Help needed. (1 Viewer)

WiseOwl

Hi everyone,

After trying digiscoping for a while, i decided to upgarade to something better, so i bought a Nikon D40, paired with the sigma 55-200 F4-5.6 DC lens, and a X2 converter.

I know the lens is not the best for nature photography, but my aim was, since im new to this, was to build up some experience of working with Telephotos, whilst remaining in budget, and upgrade to a 500mm later in the year, and when finances would allow.

Hence the Converter.

The thing is, when the converter is used, everything is rather dark, especially so in woodland, where the pics are just black.

Ive tried using the built in flash to compensate, but this makes very little if any difference.

Like i said, i am new at this, and apperture settings, ISO numbers, whitebalence ect, is confusing.

Any suggestions?

Cheers

Den B :)

I've not used a Nikon DSLR but in general terms the a couple of things spring to mind.

Firstly using a 2x converter is seldom a good idea on anything less than a fast prime lens. It would help to know what converter brand it is as quality can vary a lot and whether it's an auto converter or not. In addition using a 2x convert means you lose two f-stops or in other words quarters the shutter speed you'd have had without it fitted. Even in good daylight you may get slow shutter speeds - in dense woodland I wouldn't even consider using one tripod mounted with a f5,6 lens as the best apertur you could hope for would be f8 in what would be gloomy conditions anyway.