• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Côte d'Ivoire: 29th Jan-12 Feb 2016 (1 Viewer)

Jacana

Will Jones
Spain
I thought I would post a quick trip report from the fieldwork I conducted in Côte d'Ivoire earlier this year, there seems to be very little information about this country anywhere online due to the issues the country has faced in the past 15 years or so.

Background

I am a PhD student working with Ficedula Flycatchers at Uppsala University in Sweden and every summer I work with a breeding population of Pied and Collared Flycatchers on Öland, a Swedish island in the Baltic. These two species are some of the best studies passerines in Europe, yet surprisingly little is known about them when they leave Europe. Pied Flycatchers generally winter in West Africa, while Collared Flycatchers are thought to mostly winter in South-Central Africa, between the DRC and Zimbabwe. At an office party last year, my colleague, Eryn and I, helped by wine came up with a plan to try and find out more about our study species in Africa. The cold light of day revealed that we would have to write of Collared Flycatchers. The logistics of doing fieldwork in places like Angola or the DRC (in the rainy season) were just too great. Pieds were a better prospect as their range, abundances and preference for the dry season meant that we would have a fighting chance of getting some data.