• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

SpiderTech adapter question (1 Viewer)

miller.rob

I just picked up a SpiderTech adapter. It looks great, but being a newbie, I have a quick question.

Do other SpiderTech owners (or adapter owners in general) leave their camera screwed/attached to the adapter 100% of the time? Or do you just screw/attach it when you want to take a shot? Or do you not bother screwing them together, and just hold them together?

A goofy question I'm sure, but I remember a message on here about a fellow's camera threads wearing out.

I have a Nikon CoolPix 4500 camera.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Rob Miller
Toronto, Ontario

Hi Rob, I have a Digimount adapter from Photosolve and like to keep
it attached to my Nikon all the time. The reason for this is because I
feel that the treads on the 4500 are very fine and constant removal
of the adapter my damage these treads in some way. Now I have a
question for you, is the Spidertech adapter available in Canada or did you
have to get it shipped from overseas? Also what was it's cost?

Thanks
Gordie

Hi Rob,