• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Swift Tyrol 15x60 (1 Viewer)

Joker9937

I have had little to no luck with this binocular. Thought it might be of interest to some, and maybe elicit some help for me by posting.

I am a rookie at the vintage binocular pursuit, but my impression is that this is/was a nice binocular when new. My particular set is still very nice, but in the process of attempting to free a frozen diopter over the period of roughly a month, I broke the diopter ring and threaded sleeve. However, the image quality through the intact side seems excellent, all things considered. Looking at Jupiter showed a sharp round ball, and 4 pin-point moons. Not sure that any detail of the surface would be perceptible, but on a tripod, I would not be surprised. Daytime views are sharp with nice color and contrast. I would love to actually use them to observe the bald eagles behind my house.

So, does anyone on here have any first-hand knowledge/experience, or any book knowledge of them, for that matter?

I can say that they seem to be worth the effort that I am going to need to put forth to get them properly repaired. I have posted a couple of want ads for parts, but don't know how to do that on this site.

If there have been other posts on this site about them, I apologize for starting a new thread. I searched, but did not find anything. If anyone else needs details about mine to compare to theirs, I am happy to oblige. If you need/want more pics, I can do that too.

Thank you.

Attachments

• 20190228_175203.jpg
    20190228_175203.jpg
    61.1 KB · Views: 104
Thanks Joker,