• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

absolute beginner - tips + help please! (1 Viewer)

stevetb

hi there, ive just found my old pentax espio 200 camera http://www.ciao.co.uk/Pentax_Espio_200_Compact_Camera__2437 ( only link i could find as its so old.) i got it a couple christmas' back and never really got any decent photos. they either didn't focus, come out grainy or had a very dark background. i haven't a clue about photography so if someone could link to a beginners guide or explain all the different things to take into account and generally give advice and tips, that would be most helpful.
cheers! :king:

It depends what you are taking shots of,eg,Landscapes,Portraits ,etc.I guess that for bird images,unless it has a decent zoom,may not be very practical.Have you a handbook/manual for the camera ? .That should give you some idea as to settings etc.

it has a 200mm zoom which aint that good. i will get a better camera but first i want to get to grips with the basics. eg. whats shutter speed, ISO all that sorta stuff mean? - now you see what i mean by absolute beginner :'D

AC/DC said:
it has a 200mm zoom which aint that good. i will get a better camera but first i want to get to grips with the basics. eg. whats shutter speed, ISO all that sorta stuff mean? - now you see what i mean by absolute beginner :'D
Get a book called 'Understanding Exposure' by Bryan Peterson. It'll explain all you need to know about the basics.