• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

tripod for swarovski scope (1 Viewer)

MattMatt

hi.

i'm brand new to digiscoping. so new, in fact that i don't even have a scope yet. i'm pretty sure i am going to get the swarovski at-80 hd scope, which seems to be the best, and the 20-60x eyepiece. it looks like it will run me $1900, and if anyone has a good suggestion on where to buy it from, that would be very helpful.

my question is about tripods/heads. I'm not sure which one to get. what i think i've figured out from these poists is that stability is essential. so there are 2 options, either a light (3lb) carbon tripod, like gitzo or a heavier tripod. it seems that the light ones run >$600 while the heavier ones can run <$300. is it worth the extra lightness/money? are the light tripods as stable as the heavier ones? what is the best tripod/head for less than $300? the difference in price is significant, so i want to make the right decision.

thanks!

--matt

Hi Matt,

On behalf of Admin and the Moderators I'd like to welcome you to Bird Forum.

I have just bought the ATS 80 HD myself to replace my Kowa 823. I have been using a Manfrotto 055NAT tripod with a 128 head. The combination is heavy but very stable 5.1lbs without head. I think Manfrotto are marketed under the Bogen name in the USA, the 055 range being Bogen 3021N and BN.

I have however just obtained the Man 443 / Bogen 3443D so as to save a bit of weight. It works out at 3.5lbs.

First thoughts are that it's as stable as the 055 but in windy conditions the heavier model will be better.