• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Who Does Both DSLR and Digiscoping? (1 Viewer)

Matt_RTH

I'm considering buying a spotting scope to get better close up views of birds. I now have a DSLR with a range of lenses. Get a broad range of quality in results (maybe 10% are real keepers) but would like to see the more distant aves clearer.

Has anyone gone from DSLR to digiscoping or vice versa? I always like to capture the moments as I'm not good at remembering details to identify birds after the fact. Does serious digiscoping preclude regular viewing?

At this point, if I do get a scope I'd probably keep the DSLR handy anyway but if I can lighten the load to go with scope and a small digital, that might be preferable.

I guess the real question is for those who have done both, which results in the best and most consistent results?

Cheers,
Matt

I still dabble in both, though for bird photos I mostly use a DSLR+400mm lens nowadays. There's no comparison really for photo quality - DSLR is the way to go.

I've always thought that if you want good photos then that's what a DSLR+long lens is for.