Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Zeiss - Always on the lookout for something special – Shop now

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Content Adviser

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old Friday 24th November 2006, 21:57   #1
Henry B
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lhanbryde-Elgin.
Posts: 3,226
Content Adviser

I keep getting a content adviser box saying I cann,t access that particular site and asks for a password,and a prompt for that password, for which I have never entered before.Any offer of help would be appreciated.
__________________
henry
Henry B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 25th November 2006, 09:55   #2
Andrew Rowlands
Registered User
 
Andrew Rowlands's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wales.
Posts: 5,971
Hi Henry,

Internet Options > Content > can you Disable it in there?

If not, some extra info would be useful. XP and IE 6 or 7? Are you an Administrator? Are you the only User? Is this an employers machine?

When did this start? Any changes coincide with it?

Cheers,

Andy.
Andrew Rowlands is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Saturday 25th November 2006, 17:09   #3
Henry B
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lhanbryde-Elgin.
Posts: 3,226
Andy, this problem started about six weeks ago,there were no changes to operating or sites visited, and was advised to change to Mozila as my provider which I did and it cured the problem at that time. Yesterday when I joined Yahoo messenger the content advisor box appeared again.The home PC runs Windows XP . We tried the internet options etc but made no differance, TIA,,,hb
__________________
henry
Henry B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 25th November 2006, 17:52   #4
Keith Reeder
Watch the birdie...
 
Keith Reeder's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Blyth, Northumberland, NE England
Posts: 11,038
Could you say which website is doing this, Henry?
__________________
Keith Reeder

Canon 7D, Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8 OS, TCs.
www.capture-the-moment.co.uk
Keith Reeder is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2006 2007 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Saturday 25th November 2006, 18:15   #5
Henry B
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lhanbryde-Elgin.
Posts: 3,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Reeder
Could you say which website is doing this, Henry?
Keith ,it happens when I try to log on to Yahoo messenger.
__________________
henry
Henry B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 25th November 2006, 19:09   #6
Andrew Rowlands
Registered User
 
Andrew Rowlands's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wales.
Posts: 5,971
So if you're still using a Mozilla-based browser, it's not going to be the IE content adviser blocking you.

This happens when you try to log onto Yahoo Messenger - within a browser, yes? Or with the stand-alone client?

You mentioned Yahoo - their toolbar has been causing some problems recently, can you remove the toolbar, reboot and test - if the pop-up still occurs, can you try to find out which program it belongs to?

What other security programs do you have, Henry? (I think we'll need to run a scan to pick up all running processes if this continues)
Andrew Rowlands is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Saturday 25th November 2006, 21:11   #7
Henry B
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lhanbryde-Elgin.
Posts: 3,226
Sorry I can,t be more helpful with this .,but a second message has come up in box saying ...This page has been rated by a rating system that you do not have installed. For more information about these ratings,connect to www.icra.org/ratings .When I go there and read it I am still left clueless as what to do..I can live quite happy without Yahoo Messenger and delete it.
__________________
henry
Henry B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 27th November 2006, 04:16   #8
BradP
Registered User
 
BradP's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ohio
Posts: 36
Yahoo messenger probably embeds IE when it shows you content. Open IE. Go to Tools->Internet Options->Content tab. In the Content Advisor frame, do you see a button for "Enable" or "Disable"? If it says disable, then Content advisor was turned on. Click Disable. It will prompt you for a password. Try a few of your personal passwords. If those don't work, yell at any other users of your computer and tell them to try their passwords. If that works, tell them to stop messing with your computer! If that doesn't work, there is a registry key you can delete to clear the password. Google search "clear content advisor password". You will find the right key to delete in the search results.
BradP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 27th November 2006, 12:46   #9
Henry B
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lhanbryde-Elgin.
Posts: 3,226
Brad ,thanks for the info, I,ve done the Google search,and got loads of sites to visit,but being a complete [well almost] duffer with PCs, it still looks a bit gobledegook to me,but I will not give up just yet I,ll try and follow the instructions given.,but I will probably need an idiots guide as what to do..tia.
__________________
henry
Henry B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 27th November 2006, 14:49   #10
Henry B
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lhanbryde-Elgin.
Posts: 3,226
OK I got an easy [?] guide to follow from www.pchell.com/support ; ? when I click on the plus sign and a subfolder appears ,do I click on these aswell ,there are lots of them...and I,m losing the will to live...brain hurts.
__________________
henry
Henry B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 27th November 2006, 19:28   #11
Andrew Rowlands
Registered User
 
Andrew Rowlands's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wales.
Posts: 5,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henry B
We tried the internet options etc but made no difference ...
So this means that the IE Content Adviser was not enabled, Henry? (Back to posts #2 and 3.)
Andrew Rowlands is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Content Blocker Andrew Rowlands Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 5 Sunday 6th August 2006 11:39
Owl content? jesone BirdForum TV Discussion 0 Saturday 11th March 2006 19:49
Nikon Sporter 10x36 My New Bins django Nikon 13 Tuesday 6th December 2005 07:31
How do you get search robots to check website content? tomjenner Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 3 Wednesday 17th August 2005 14:10

{googleads}

Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites

Help support BirdForum

Page generated in 0.20794797 seconds with 25 queries
All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17.