Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Zeiss - Always on the lookout for something special – Shop now

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Cookies-Where are they please!!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old Wednesday 29th November 2006, 20:38   #1
christineredgate
Winner of the Copeland Wildlife Photographer of the Year Comp 2009/2010
 
christineredgate's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Haverigg,South Cumbria
Posts: 31,995
Cookies-Where are they please!!!

I have had a pc prob for the last week or so now.The page keeps coming up which says "This page cannot be displayed" It pops up in between the sections,here,on WPF,I posted a thread,it was there in the section posted,but not displayed in the New posts,as the "Page" came up again.BT Yahoo e-mail is all over the spot,one opens the page,then when one clicks onto the e-mail box,it says that the page cannot be displayed,it could not even show the address book last week,but if one clicks off and then goes straight back on again ,it is fine.Things are very slow at time.
I accidentally downloaded the AVG spy buster instead of updating the AVG antivirus prog.After that ,things began to go wrong,I then removed the Antispy prog,(we do have Spybot),but I may have deleted some files .
Any ideas please.(Simply explained!!).
__________________
Haverigg.net

Ride Free,Fly Free.
Avatar by Tracker(Tom)
Christine
christineredgate is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 29th November 2006, 21:14   #2
paulwfromtheden
Registered User
 
paulwfromtheden's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croydon
Posts: 1,439
Blog Entries: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by christineredgate
I have had a pc prob for the last week or so now.The page keeps coming up which says "This page cannot be displayed" It pops up in between the sections,here,on WPF,I posted a thread,it was there in the section posted,but not displayed in the New posts,as the "Page" came up again.BT Yahoo e-mail is all over the spot,one opens the page,then when one clicks onto the e-mail box,it says that the page cannot be displayed,it could not even show the address book last week,but if one clicks off and then goes straight back on again ,it is fine.Things are very slow at time.
I accidentally downloaded the AVG spy buster instead of updating the AVG antivirus prog.After that ,things began to go wrong,I then removed the Antispy prog,(we do have Spybot),but I may have deleted some files .
Any ideas please.(Simply explained!!).
Have you got Windows XP? If so, your system takes backups of the system files periodically, can you restore it back to a time when all was working fine?
paulwfromtheden is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 29th November 2006, 21:20   #3
christineredgate
Winner of the Copeland Wildlife Photographer of the Year Comp 2009/2010
 
christineredgate's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Haverigg,South Cumbria
Posts: 31,995
Paul,thanks,yes i guess when I did a scan,it did ask me if I wanted to delete the tempory internet files and I said yes.I have forgotten how to find the "restore " box
__________________
Haverigg.net

Ride Free,Fly Free.
Avatar by Tracker(Tom)
Christine
christineredgate is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 29th November 2006, 21:26   #4
Stewart J.
Registered User
 
Stewart J.'s Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southwest Northumberland UK
Posts: 4,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by christineredgate
Paul,thanks,yes i guess when I did a scan,it did ask me if I wanted to delete the tempory internet files and I said yes.I have forgotten how to find the "restore " box
Hi Christine its

Start/ All Programs/ Accesories/ System Tools

best of luck

Stewart
Stewart J. is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2007 2010 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 29th November 2006, 21:27   #5
paulwfromtheden
Registered User
 
paulwfromtheden's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croydon
Posts: 1,439
Blog Entries: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by christineredgate
Paul,thanks,yes i guess when I did a scan,it did ask me if I wanted to delete the tempory internet files and I said yes.I have forgotten how to find the "restore " box
It's in control panel/performance and maintenance\system restore in (the top left corner).
Be careful though, because you are messing around with system files, can you back up all the files you want to a CD first? It's just in case you have to restore the operating system or something ghastly like that.
paulwfromtheden is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 29th November 2006, 21:28   #6
Words
Everything is Permuted
 
Words's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sussex
Posts: 197
Hi Christine,

You can get to the restore function by going to Start>Help and Support

Under "Pick a Task" you should find a link to System Restore.
__________________
Everything is Permuted | Blog
Words is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 29th November 2006, 22:14   #7
christineredgate
Winner of the Copeland Wildlife Photographer of the Year Comp 2009/2010
 
christineredgate's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Haverigg,South Cumbria
Posts: 31,995
thanks,everyone ,I have found and done a System restore,sorted out the AV anti virus whic was about to expire,these things take ages!!!.
another question,last week we had a small"crash".Sent for the error report from Microsoft,they said it was a serious crash,just lasted a second,and their report said ,that they did not know the cause,but on vieiwng the contenets of our pc,we should consider BIOS upgrade..they said the basic input/output(BIOS) system does not match specifications for our processor.Is this something to be concerned about,did I ought to contact our pc guy.Do not want unneccessary expense.things are somewhat slow,but may speed up since the restore point.
__________________
Haverigg.net

Ride Free,Fly Free.
Avatar by Tracker(Tom)
Christine
christineredgate is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 29th November 2006, 22:18   #8
Mike Pennington
Registered Member
 
Mike Pennington's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shetland
Posts: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by christineredgate
I have had a pc prob for the last week or so now.The page keeps coming up which says "This page cannot be displayed" It pops up in between the sections,here,on WPF,I posted a thread,it was there in the section posted,but not displayed in the New posts,as the "Page" came up again.BT Yahoo e-mail is all over the spot,one opens the page,then when one clicks onto the e-mail box,it says that the page cannot be displayed,it could not even show the address book last week,but if one clicks off and then goes straight back on again ,it is fine.Things are very slow at time.
I accidentally downloaded the AVG spy buster instead of updating the AVG antivirus prog.After that ,things began to go wrong,I then removed the Antispy prog,(we do have Spybot),but I may have deleted some files .
Any ideas please.(Simply explained!!).
I'm pretty sure that this a problem on the internet and not on your compuer. I've had the same problems recently, with many, many pages timing out or not loading at all and I was told today that someone who works on fixing computers in Orkney is getting loads of phonecalls with excatly the same problem.

I can't find anyone admitting to the problem, but I haven't tried very hard.
Mike Pennington is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 29th November 2006, 22:24   #9
christineredgate
Winner of the Copeland Wildlife Photographer of the Year Comp 2009/2010
 
christineredgate's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Haverigg,South Cumbria
Posts: 31,995
thanks,Mike,it is the Yahoo e-mail which is problematic,but then on WPF,a notice came up saying this page cannot be displayed in the middle of posting a thread.Very strange.Perhaps some other BF members may be having the same problem.
__________________
Haverigg.net

Ride Free,Fly Free.
Avatar by Tracker(Tom)
Christine
christineredgate is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 30th November 2006, 16:43   #10
Ben M
Opus Editor
 
Ben M's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 515
Hi Christine,

Sound like you're just getting broadband outages.

What browser are you using? IE, Firefox, other?
__________________
Local patch: Bestwood Country Park Blog: Ben's Bestwood Birding
Last patch ticks: 2011 Goldeneye (100); 2010 Waxwing (102); 2009 Goosander (93); 2008 Waxwing (96); 2007 Siskin (96); Life Goldeneye (119)
Ben M is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2008 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 30th November 2006, 19:57   #11
christineredgate
Winner of the Copeland Wildlife Photographer of the Year Comp 2009/2010
 
christineredgate's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Haverigg,South Cumbria
Posts: 31,995
Ben,I think it is a Yahoo e-mail prob,perhaps our Broadband.A friend of mine ,in the village,says she is also having probs with the e-mail system,the "page cannot be displayed" keeps coming up all the time,cannot find server etc.But we do not know who to contact,the BT/Yahoo helpline are expensive and useless.I think IE is our browser,there is a symbol on the desktop showing the same,cannot see any mention of Firefox.
__________________
Haverigg.net

Ride Free,Fly Free.
Avatar by Tracker(Tom)
Christine
christineredgate is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 30th November 2006, 21:12   #12
christineredgate
Winner of the Copeland Wildlife Photographer of the Year Comp 2009/2010
 
christineredgate's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Haverigg,South Cumbria
Posts: 31,995
I have just spent 45 mins on the BT Yahoo helpline,to see if they can solve the prob of this page keep popping up,they said there is nothing with the Broadband server,yet in the middle of placing a Xmas order,suddenely the white page appeared,and in the lower panel,it said "could notfind server",and the Yahoo guy said it must be our D-link,he gave me this phone no 0845 512 0003 but the number is not in use,does anyone know of the correct number please.I tried to get back to BT but no success.
__________________
Haverigg.net

Ride Free,Fly Free.
Avatar by Tracker(Tom)
Christine
christineredgate is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 30th November 2006, 22:49   #13
Ben M
Opus Editor
 
Ben M's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by christineredgate
Ben,I think it is a Yahoo e-mail prob,perhaps our Broadband.A friend of mine ,in the village,says she is also having probs with the e-mail system,the "page cannot be displayed" keeps coming up all the time,cannot find server etc.But we do not know who to contact,the BT/Yahoo helpline are expensive and useless.I think IE is our browser,there is a symbol on the desktop showing the same,cannot see any mention of Firefox.
Hi Christine,

The reason I asked about the browser is because the messages you get can be different even if the problem is the same, depending on your browser.

It sounds like you're getting a similar problem to me. Do you notice anything in particular about the occurance of these outages? I.e. how frequent?, how long to recover?, what's the weather like? Mine occur mostly during heavy rain or wind. This is a common problem (see this thread in another forum for details). It may well be your line, especially if you're not in a large town or city... or if you're quite far from your local telephone exchange, but the phone companies seem to deny any responsibility for these types of problems. The thread makes some interesting reading

It seems you're using IE as your browser. Does it manage to recover when the connection comes back? Can you carry on with your purchase process without entering all the details again? I find that my browser (Firefox) allows me to recover gracefully, when the connection is back. Firefox is free, so you could try it if you think it will help in some way
__________________
Local patch: Bestwood Country Park Blog: Ben's Bestwood Birding
Last patch ticks: 2011 Goldeneye (100); 2010 Waxwing (102); 2009 Goosander (93); 2008 Waxwing (96); 2007 Siskin (96); Life Goldeneye (119)
Ben M is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2008 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Friday 1st December 2006, 17:50   #14
Mike Pennington
Registered Member
 
Mike Pennington's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shetland
Posts: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben M
It seems you're using IE as your browser. Does it manage to recover when the connection comes back? Can you carry on with your purchase process without entering all the details again? I find that my browser (Firefox) allows me to recover gracefully, when the connection is back. Firefox is free, so you could try it if you think it will help in some way
I'm using IE and Firefox. Makes no difference - they both time out but Firefox is probably robuster.

I'm not actually losing a connection - just getting timed out or sometimes (especially in IE) having the browser fail to find the page. Sometimes refresh works, other times not. If it refreshes then I can carry on where I left off with eother browser.

BT just claim it is something I've done. I know it's not. Interestingly, it seems better today.
Mike Pennington is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 1st December 2006, 20:14   #15
RecoveringScot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NE Scotland
Posts: 1,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Pennington
I'm using IE and Firefox. Makes no difference - they both time out but Firefox is probably robuster.

I'm not actually losing a connection - just getting timed out or sometimes (especially in IE) having the browser fail to find the page. Sometimes refresh works, other times not. If it refreshes then I can carry on where I left off with eother browser.

BT just claim it is something I've done. I know it's not. Interestingly, it seems better today.
I get these 'unable to connect to server' things every so often, probably about once every two weeks. I just assume they're doing essential work (however I'm always puzzled when a billions-of-pounds outfit can't live up to their 'always on' spiel about broadband). Sometimes (e.g when trying to access my online bank details) it's a complete pain in the thrups.

Cheers,
__________________
Phil
RecoveringScot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 1st December 2006, 20:22   #16
rosbifs
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Luz St Sauveur, France
Posts: 3,697
My computer kept dropping the connection when I hadn't changed page on the internet for c.5 minutes - the time it takes to type a lenghty email which by the time I had finished the connection was gone - does this sound similar? I thought it was something to do with the screen saver (which was disabled).
It seems to have righted itself yesterday - I did delete a file called 'innactivity' in system processes.
However prior to that I had to disconnect the internet cable and then reconnnect - nothing else would do well other than rebooting.
rosbifs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 1st December 2006, 20:43   #17
Mike Pennington
Registered Member
 
Mike Pennington's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shetland
Posts: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by RecoveringScot
I get these 'unable to connect to server' things every so often, probably about once every two weeks. I just assume they're doing essential work (however I'm always puzzled when a billions-of-pounds outfit can't live up to their 'always on' spiel about broadband). Sometimes (e.g when trying to access my online bank details) it's a complete pain in the thrups.

Cheers,
This sounds fairly normal. Once every 2 weeks or so you will bump into a server which is out of action, overloaded etc.

I was getting a failure ot connect every 2-3 minutes at its worst.
Mike Pennington is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 1st December 2006, 22:13   #18
christineredgate
Winner of the Copeland Wildlife Photographer of the Year Comp 2009/2010
 
christineredgate's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Haverigg,South Cumbria
Posts: 31,995
Yes,I dicovered this morning that everyone in our area(ie on our actual road) are all having similiar problems.But BT is of no help whatsoever,I spent another very stressful 45 mins on the phone today,to their helpline,trying to explain that it was not my pc,but our local area has the problem,therefore is there any way the local exchange can be contacted.But I totally lost my patience,and cut off.Talking to someone at the other side of the world,re a problem in ones local area,just does not seem to work.
But at the moment things seem to be okay.But I shall sort out my order via the phone ,tommorrow,play safe!!!.
Just so annoying.
__________________
Haverigg.net

Ride Free,Fly Free.
Avatar by Tracker(Tom)
Christine
christineredgate is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Friday 1st December 2006, 22:38   #19
A CHAPLIN
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PRESTON, LANCS
Posts: 2,546
Hi Folks,

They all are interested in collecting our subscriptions, charging the earth for advice as they all use premium phone numbers but are no use at all to people like me who do not have any degrees least of all in IT they have the same standard basic answers whatever the problem which of course don't work in every case. In summary they are of no help whatsoever they only want our money and do not care about customers problems, customer satisfaction seems the last thing on their mind, if they lose one there are thousands more out there.

Sorry the cynic.

Ann
A CHAPLIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 1st December 2006, 23:39   #20
christineredgate
Winner of the Copeland Wildlife Photographer of the Year Comp 2009/2010
 
christineredgate's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Haverigg,South Cumbria
Posts: 31,995
Thanks,Ann,yes,like you I know nothing at all re pc's and technology,I rely on the help from BF.But strangely,things now seem to be sorted.Unfortunately,I have a very low patience threshold.Barry(hubby) could not believe I had taken so many KF shots,as it needs lots of time and patience.But being outside with the birds is a totally different kettle of fish to dealing with call centres,and ones own domestic chores!!!.
But I was very angry,which is why I terminated the call.But at the moment everything is fine.BF is so much quicker than it has been for the prev week,so perhaps some action has been taken,or it could just be coincedence.!!
__________________
Haverigg.net

Ride Free,Fly Free.
Avatar by Tracker(Tom)
Christine
christineredgate is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
free virus checker Surreybirder Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 32 Friday 24th February 2006 14:22
Difficulty registering with E-Bay,any tips please? christineredgate Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 11 Wednesday 6th October 2004 22:39
Where did that cookie go? KC Foggin Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 2 Saturday 12th July 2003 14:22

{googleads}

Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites

Help support BirdForum

Page generated in 0.24073100 seconds with 34 queries
All times are GMT. The time now is 02:14.