• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Lens advice? (1 Viewer)

Astrokev

Hi All

I've been imaging birds for a few years now, but insect photography is something I've only dabbled at from time to time.

I've recently been using my 420mm f5.6 Nikon prime (300 + 1.4 TC) which gives reasonable results, but I recognise that this isn't traditionally the best lens for the job. I've also got a 50mm Sigma macro, which is a great lens, but is a bit too short and I need to climb all over the subject to get close shots (usually spooking the subject in the process).

I'd be grateful for tips and guidance on what others use for butterflies and dragons'.

Any recommendations or tips on technique much appreciated.

A few examples taken with my 420mm set-up are on my blog (link below).

Regards
Kevin

Something in the 100mm range is probably the minimum focal length that should be considered. Most manufacturers make them and when stopped down all are pretty good.
The Nikon 105vr is handy as it's stabilised and will take converters though I have no experience of this lens myself. Many others use the longer Sigmas-the 150 seems to be preferred to the older 180. For more working distance, the Nikkor 200mm is one of the best lenses you can get, but it is getting on a bit now.
One other possibility is to put an extension tube on your 300mm (possibly with the converter) to reduce the focussing distance-a friend does this with his Pentax 300mm.