• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Handheld GPS Questions and Recommendations (1 Viewer)

Ghostly Vision

Hi

I have never owned and barely used handheld GPS before, so I'm a complete novice. Can I pick everyone's brains please?

This is what I think I want....

I'm no thicko when it comes to electronic devices and can usually pick up any gadget and get it working without the instructions. However, the GPS's I've used in the past seem a little difficult to get to grabs with - difficult to find what you want to do via convoluted menus. As such, I'm looking for one that's easy to use. I can't remember which ones I've tried in the past but it was an oldish Garmin.

My main use will be to mark and find places for flowers. As such, I'll need it to be sensitive enough to use in woods as well as the open. It will need to be very accurate too.

I would prefer it to be colour, and quite light.

I want an all-in-one unit, not a PDA + separate receiver.

I don't need it to navigate me on roads, as I have a car satnav already. I don't particularly need it to work out walking routes either - or do I?

The Gramin 60CSx has been recommended on another thread - would this fit the bill for me?

One question, which may seem stupid; I see that maps are available for all these units (and the ones for the 60CSx seem to be criticised for their lack of detail) - do I need to buy these or does it work without them? Are these just for working out routes and stuff or are they essential to get the best out of it?

Which High Street shops sell these things, as I'd prefer to see one in use before I buy?