• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Usefulness or otherwise of 20x fixed eyepiece (Nikon ED50 related) (1 Viewer)

mulligatawny owl

Just a few questions regarding my Nikon ED50 with 20xW eyepiece.

I bought these for £325.00 used a couple of weeks ago, great price I thought :)

Anyway I'm new to scopes having always just used 7 or 8x bins for birding, but seeing most birders seem to have scopes these days I thought I'd take the plunge. I should add that as I don't drive I'm limited to what can be carried about in a rucksack all day.

So, I'm fairly impressed with the brightness and sharpness of the scope but having used it in a variety of situations for the past week or so I can't really see much practical use for 20x magnification. My Nikon SE 8x32's and Opticron HRWP 8x42's bins are both very bright and pin sharp, a real joy to look through. With either of these bins I can pick out small details and usually ID moderately distant waders for example.
Now, when using the Ed50 with 20x ( either with hide clamp or velbon maxi L tripod ) I really don't feel I'm gaining anything worthwhile over the bins, the view is closer of course but not as bright or as sharp or as relaxing as the bins and just not powerful enough to warrant bringing the scope along at all I have concluded.