• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon Action Extreme 8x40??? (2 Viewers)

birdlove

Hi everybody,

I am a newbie and seeks ur help for binocs selection.
As every birder needs, i need nice bins with good optics for my price range.
Since, nikon rocks in optical quality, i have settled down to nikon bins.
I am a graduate student, so cant spend much.
My budget is 150$ and i believe nikon action extreme 8x40 shud suit for my birding purpose.

Please comment on its optical quality. Is it any good?
It weights 30 oz and bit bulky. Will it be a severe trouble while birding..?
Morover, my another birding friend is looking for nikon action 8x40. Please comment on nikon action's 8x40 optical quality also.
Are these two bins(nikon action extreme 8x40,nikon action 8x40) are good choices for birding..?

Its my first post in this site and i very much appreciate every hep from you.

Thanks in advance.

hi birdlove and welcome to BirdForum from all the moderators and admin.

The Nikon Actions are very good bins for the money, I don't think the weight would be an issue as they are well balanced bins.

I have no experience with the Nikon action extreme, but I just noticed that Eagle Optics, a very well respected American optics dealer, made the 8 x 40 one of their "staff picks" in this price range for birding binoculars. (see the link here: http://www.eagleoptics.com/buying_guide.asp?cid=4).