• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

What's Neeeded - Nikon D50 Camera to Nikon ED50 Scope (1 Viewer)

John_R_C

I'm new to scopes but own a D50 camera body with a Nikkor 28-80 1:3.3-5.6G and Nikkor 70-300 1:4-5.6G zoom lenses. My work to date has been with the longer lens; however I'd like to reach out with the ED50 scope based on reading a variety of threads in BirdForum. Can my camera be used with this scope, and if so, what am I looking at needing in addition to the scope (and tripod and eyepiece).

Obviously, I'm pretty clueless :-O.

Thanks,

John C

The ED50 is not compatible with the Nikon FSA-L1 SLR adapter. Really the only way to do this is with the Nikon UBK. You will need the 16x Wide DS eyepiece and probably a 28/35/50mm lens.

Rick

Sorry, I feel the entire current Coolpix lineup sucks even as general cameras, moreover for digiscoping, while their dslrs are the world's best. That said, I suppose you might be able to make this camera work with the 16x Wide DS eyepiece and universal camera adapter.

FWIW, I think the 3 best pocket digicams currently for digiscopers are the Panasonic FX150, Canon SD990, and Sony W300. You will still need the 16x Wide DS and adapter like this.

cheers,
Rick

Sorry, I feel the entire current Coolpix lineup sucks even as general cameras, moreover for digiscoping, while their dslrs are the world's best. That said, I suppose you might be able to make this camera work with the 16x Wide DS eyepiece and universal camera adapter.