• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Viking Vistron binos (1 Viewer)

Lulubird

Hi there,

I am relatively new to all this, but I am trying to buy a couple of cheap but good things!

Firstly, I am looking for a pair of binoculars for my boyfriend to come out birding with me. I currently have the RSPB BG PC 8x32 which are ace, but he wants to try something slightly different (and a bit cheaper) - maybe 10x32s or 10x42s and he wants to pay no more than £150 or so. Is this possible?

I am wondering whether anyone has any advice on the viking range? Particularly the Viking Vistron 10 x 42?

I have heard these are good, but does anyone know of any better?

Thanks lots

Lucy

Hi Lucy,

My OH has got a pair of Opticron Discovery 8x42 binoculars, which she really likes. They cost about £125 and there is also a 10x42 model which is usually about £10 dearer. I don't know much about the 10x42, although the field of view is a bit narrower but, if you can find a pair, it might be worth comparing them against the Viking Vistron. I believe Infocus sell them.

I'm sure there will be other suggestions.

Edit. From the RSPB site it looks as if the Vistrons are £259 and at that price there are probably various other choices.

Ron

Last edited:
Try the Vortex Diamondback at around £150. Waterproof roof prism - good optically and pleasing to use. I think the Discoverys are a wee bit on the chunky and heavy side although the MKII version is reported to be slightly lighter in weight.