• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

budding bird artist? (1 Viewer)

midlands birder

hi everone
for a long time i have been casually drawing birds,like small sketches and jottings,but now would like to bulid my skills further, i am not an avid artist,when out birding i dont want to pick up a pencil and paper and want to enjoy what i see,then take photos and draw my pictures from the pic's or memory
i will attach a drawing i made of a waxwing(my fave bird),

note i am only 14 years old and havent been doing this that long,
so has anybody got any tips to improve my drawings.:t:
thanks in advanceo:D
SDC19220.JPG

Very nice piece of drawing M-B. The only suggestion I have for you is to draw and draw - etc. You have the love of the subject and can clearly handle the tools so all that's required now is the wll to do it (which you also seem to have). Keep posting your work here and there'll be plenty of advice and comment, no doubt. Just checking your blog and it's clear you take id seriously, so a good way to integrate your art with your hobby would be to make field notes. Just make a few sketches of the obvious field differences twixt say herring and great black-backs (structure and behaviour particularly) each time you're out and I'm certain that these will soon be forming a major part of your art.
Good luck!

thanks for the tips tim much appeciated
and thanks for the welcome solitaryVSong
most of my pics feature about birds i have seen recently(have drawings of cattle egret,waxwing,sabine's gull and little stint).i will include a drawing of the recent little stint:t:SDC19226.JPG